Staff and Governors

Why do we have Governors?

The Government has stated that 'the governing body has general responsibility for the conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement' (quote from the 2002 Education Act).

In summary, the three main roles of any governing body are:

  • to take a largely strategic role in the running of the school.
  • to act as a critical friend to the school.
  • to ensure accountability of the governing body to parents and the headteacher to the governing body.

This means that a governing body:

  • acts as a friend/support/help to the school and particularly the headteacher.
  • acts as a representative for parents, staff and members of the community.
  • takes a long term view of developments in school.
  • challenges the headteacher and school leadership team by asking questions.

QEHS Governing Body

The governing body at QEHS has a number of full governors who are supported by student governors and the school's leadership team. A full breakdown is shown below:

Composition of the Governing Body Numbers
Parent Governors 5
Local Authority Governor 1
Staff Governor 1
Headteacher 1
Co-opted Governors 9
Total 17
Student Governors 2


Governing Body Membership

Name Category Committee Member Term Ends
Mr D Allsop Headteacher Steering Committee, Major Capital Build Committee, Resources Committee, Standards Committee, Welfare Committee N/A
Mrs H Bird Co-opted Welfare Committee 28/02/2019
Mrs E Farrar Parent Resources Committee  02/10/2019
Mr J Field Parent Resources Committee 30/01/2022
Mrs D Hall Staff Welfare Committee 10/03/2020
Mrs J Hunt Parent Resources Committee 30/01/2022
Mrs S Jaehrig (Vice Chair) LA Steering Committee, Welfare Committee (Chair) 18/05/2019
Mrs H Kilmore Parent Standards Committee 21/10/2020 
Mrs J Pilsworth Co-opted Resources Committee 28/02/2019
Mr S Ralph Co-opted Resources Committee 30/01/2022
Dr C Stanley Parent Resources Committee 25/11/2017
Vacancy Co-opted Welfare Committee  
Dr J White (Chair) Co-opted Steering Committee, Major Capital Build Committee (Chair), Standards Committee, Resources Committee 24/03/2019
Mr C Williamson Co-opted Resources Committee, Welfare Committee 01/09/2020


Governing Body Associate Members

Name Position Committee Member Voting Rights
Mr Neil Allan Deputy Headteacher Resources Committee, Welfare Committee No
Mr Pete Russell Deputy Headteacher Resources Committee, Standards Committee No
Mr John Kingdom Assistant Headteacher Standards Committee No
Ms Marie Muir Assistant Headteacher Standards Committee No
Mrs Emma Watson Assistant Headteacher Standards Committee, Welfare Committee No
Mr Nigel Dawson Head of Sixth Form Standards Committee No
Mrs Debbie Brown School and Operations Manager Welfare Committee No
Oscar Powell Head Boy Standards Committee Yes - Sub-Committee only
Lucy Thornton Head Girl Welfare Committee Yes - Sub-Committee only




If you would like to give Governors feedback about the strategic running of the school, please click here. Please note: Governors do not involve themselves in day-to-day issues as these are dealt with by the Headteacher and/or Leadership Team.

In This Section